top of page

Mute and compliant

The vessel is persistent and keeps being made down through the ages, mute and compliant but articulate in the way that it reflects us back to ourselves” - Loder, Claire (2013). Sculpting and Handbuilding. London: A.& C. Black

I like this quote by Clair Loder. The vessel has been used throughout the ages, but it keeps being reinvented and reused, with new innovated methods of working the artist can change the way people see the vessels, giving them new meanings and ideas. In my own practice I create monochromatic geometric vessels, these vessels reflect on me and how I work. The vessels I create are precise and made in a very particular way, the objects I create have a manufactured and machine-like quality to them, heavily focusing on the material quality. I want my vessels to evoke a response by the audience, whether that is a memory, whether the vessels remind them of something or whether they simply question why I have presented them in a certain way.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page