top of page

Tony Cragg


Cumulus, 1998

Glass

Unconfirmed: 2650 x 1200 x 1200 mm

Tony Cragg's sculptures can largely be organised into groups according to the different materials from which they are made: stone, clay, bronze, glass and different synthetic materials. His sensitivity to different materials is and has been the starting point for his work. Cragg’s choice of material has determined the form, which a sculpture has taken on. Different materials give different emotional experiences, both for the artist and for us as observers. I was inspired by the ideology Cragg uses to create his work, I want for my sculptures to evoke a reaction and conversation when people view my vessels similar to Cragg. I really like the piece, Cumulus 1998, I love how he has arranged the different shaped vessels in a stack, I also like how he has sandblasted the glass to create a unique and rough surface on the glass. This material quality is something I am exploring in my own artist practice, the plaster I use gives a nice smooth finish compared to the rough, sandy finish the concrete gives.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page