top of page

The precision of these surfaces is important

“…. All of these ceramicists make vessels which can be described as minimalist; undemonstrative meditations on proportion and volume achieved through a clarity of profile and tonality that is gained by precise surface. The precision of these surfaces is important. Unlike the orientalist vessel aesthetic, where the variations of texture or tonality in a surface encourages the viewer and handler of the pot to make connections with natural forms or processes, in these “self-critical” minimalist vessels the connections are most likely to be with industrial process” - De Waal, Edmund (2003). 20th Century Ceramics. London: Thames and Hudson

This quote by Edmund de Waal helps best underpin my project, the conversation about tonality, volume and precision of surfaces is important in my project. The vessels I create are made in a very particular way to keep everything equal, I use a pre-made mould and measure my materials precisely to make sure that the volume of my objects is the same everytime.

I have also experimented around with tonality, I have added acrylic paint to my plaster mix to create monochrome vessels.

Finally, he speaks about precise surface. Surface plays a very important part in my work, I create vessels which have a beautifully finished surface which adds the material quality I want to achieve. I have recently experimented around in concrete which adds a weight and texture to the surface, by changing the material I have also changed the importance of the surface. These concrete vessels have a very familiar feeling to them which as DeWaal mentioned, “make connections with natural forms or processes.”


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page