top of page

Sol LeWitt


Wall Structure B, 1978

Painted wood, 219.1 by 388.6 by 26.7 cm

Sol LeWitt an American artist who was linked to various movements, including Conceptual art and Minimalism came to fame in the late 1960s with his wall drawings and "structures" (a term he preferred instead of "sculptures") but was prolific in a wide range of media.

When researching minimalism, in particular minimalist sculpture, I felt like it was necessary to include one of the founding members associated with the movement. I have been heavily influenced by LeWitt’s work as it exemplifies the importance of idea, instruction, methods, series, progression and order. I explore all these themes in my own artist practice, his ideology is identical to mine. When creating my own work, I think of the idea and execute it exactly how I imagined it, not always successful but I will not stop until I achieve my desired outcome. A piece of work I like by LeWitt is Wall Structure B, 1978. I enjoy this piece from an aesthetically pleasing aspect, I love how he has repeated the structure and then displayed them on the wall. I love how this is apart of a series and has had multiple different variations using the same structure. This idea of using the same structure but creating different outcomes is something I want to explore using my own vessels, whether I display them in rows, columns, grids, on the wall or on top of a plinth will change how people view and experience the artwork.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page